Tecoma Pavilion to be Restored to Former Glory
The Tecoma Pavilion is being restored to its former glory thanks to the help of generous donors. The restoration project has been undertaken to return the beautiful structure to its classic roots after it was extensively renovated in 1970’s.
The Pavilion is one of the oldest structures in the gardens. Built in the 1880's, it was originally used as a rest house, a place for gatherings and celebrations and as a bandstand. Last century, bandsmen from the 40th Regiment and the Southern District regularly played under the Tecoma Pavilion.
Though it’s now known as the Tecoma Pavilion, it was first referred to using the title ‘Tecoma Rest House’ in the 1908 Melbourne Botanic Gardens guidebook by Landscape architect and director of the Royal Botanic Gardens William Guilfoyle. He named the structure after the vine which covered its roof, Tecoma mackenni (now Podranea ricasoliana), writing ‘its roof [is] almost entirely covered with the beautiful delicate pink flowered Tecoma MacKenii’
The Tecoma Pavilion was erected as William Guilfoyle was completing his layout of the Gardens, and reflected his early design philosophy which was ultimately to develop the beauty of the Gardens and to create a picturesque landscape that would attract visitors, complete with winding paths, sweeping lawns and stately structures.
In 1974, the Tecoma Pavilion was remodelled, with modern rock walls and new flooring being added as well as new cladding on the roof. The new restoration project will remove these alterations, and echo the charming design of the original structure.