• Cranbourne
  • Melbourne

New Board Members Appointed to Royal Botanic Gardens Board Victoria

Four new board members have been appointed to the Royal Botanic Gardens Board Victoria, by the Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, the Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio.  

The new board members bring a range of new skills and experience to the board, which on behalf of the Victorian government, oversees and monitors the business of Victoria’s two most significant botanic gardens with visitation of over 2.3 million people per annum. 

The appointments include a new Board Chair, Ms Chris Trotman. Chris has over 20 years Executive experience, most recently as CEO of South Gippsland Hospital, and has served on the Parks Victoria board for the last five years. She has a public health administration and disability support background, including executive management roles in finance and education. Chris also brings to the Gardens, extensive experience serving on a range of Boards and committees in the not for profit sector and as Chairperson of the Lower Yarra River Management Advisory Committee. 

“It’s great to see the continued strong representation of women on the Board,” says Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Hon Lily D’Ambrosio. “All four new members bring a broad range of experience and I’m confident they’ll be instrumental in ensuring our treasured botanic gardens continue to be world leading in both conservation and visitation.” 

The other new appointees are: 

Ms Gillian Hund – Current Chairperson, Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria Foundation; Co-founder of Melbourne Women’s Fund and Foundation Officer at the Jack Brockhoff Foundation; Member, AICD and Philanthropy Australia. Order Of Australia medal recipient in 2020 for service to charitable organisations.  

Mr Tim Jacobs – Retired CEO, Arts Centre Melbourne and Sydney Opera House; Former Executive Director, Melbourne Festival; Recent Trustee, Melbourne and Olympic Parks Trust; Former Director, Arts Victoria and Australia Council. Current Director of Red Stitch Actors Theatre. 

Ms Traci Williams – Formerly an Australian diplomat and ABC TV News journalist. Operated her own consultancy, following three years in a senior role in Corporate Affairs at Qantas. Current member of the Queen Victoria Women’s Centre Trust.

Three other members – Mrs Penny Fowler (Deputy Chairperson), Professor Tony Bacic and Ms Susanne Williamson (of La Trobe University and Monash University respectively) have been re-appointed to the Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria Board for another term. 

The new members offer the Board a wealth of experience in fields including business management, policy and strategy, major projects, arts and culture and philanthropy. Together with the reappointed board members, they will assist Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria to continue to safeguard plants for the wellbeing of people and the planet and maintain its world-leading botanic gardens at Melbourne and Cranbourne.  

“I want to thank all the outgoing members for their considerable contributions to the Royal Botanic Gardens Board Victoria, and in particular, draw attention to the leadership of outgoing Chairman, Mr Ken Harrison, who has overseen a significant change in the approach and direction of the Gardens,” says Director & Chief Executive, Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria, Prof Tim Entwisle. 

“I look forward to working with those continuing on the Board, and the new members “We welcome Ms Trotman as the new Chairperson. With her extensive experience in natural asset management and public health, and many roles on boards and committees, I am confident the Gardens will receive excellent stewardship while she is at the helm.” 

Published on