The Board

The Royal Botanic Gardens Board Victoria (the Board) is a statutory authority established by the Royal Botanic Gardens Act 1991.

The Board has seven members, appointed by the Governor-in-Council.

Royal Botanic Gardens Board Victoria Members

Mr Kenneth Harrison MBA, BBus, FCPA, FAICD Chairman

Ken Harrison is an accountant and investment banker, and specialises in commercial property, pastoral and agricultural pursuits as Chairman of Collinsbank Pty Ltd. Keenly interested in the philanthropic sector, he occupies fundraising roles with several key institutions. He joined the Board in 2012.

Mr Graham Cunningham MBA, BEc Deputy Chairman

Graham Cunningham has an extensive background in finance and business and has served on a range of private and public sector boards. He is also a trustee of the Royal Botanic Gardens Foundation Victoria. He joined the Board in 2012 and was appointed Deputy Chairman at the same time.

Professor Tony Bacic FAA

Professor Bacic is a plant biologist with an extensive background in research and research training. His primary focus is on understanding plant growth and development with a view to ensuring a secure food supply and sustainable agriculture. He is currently Director of the Bio21 Molecular Science & Biotechnology Institute, The University of Melbourne, Deputy Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Plant Cell Walls, and a member of the Maud Gibson Trust Board.

Mrs Penny Fowler GAICD, BBus

With a background in business and marketing, Penny is the Chairman of the Herald and Weekly Times Pty Ltd and the Royal Children’s Hospital Good Friday Appeal. She is also a board member of The Australian Ballet and the McClelland Sculpture Park & Gallery. Penny is actively involved in a range of community organisations and is an ambassador for Second-Bite. She joined the Board in April 2014.

Mr Martyn Kenneth Myer

Mr Myer has an engineering background and has been chairman of Cogstate Ltd, a health software services company, since 1999. In recent years he has been a Director of Coles Myer and President of the Howard Florey Institute and is currently a Member of the Council of The University of Melbourne and the Board of the Melbourne Theatre Company, President of the Myer Foundation, and Chairman of The Myer Family Company Holdings Pty Ltd.

Ms Jennifer Wolcott BForSci (Hons)

Jennifer Wolcott has held senior executive positions in a number of Victorian government bodies, including the Environment Protection Authority, Department of Natural Resources & Environment, Department of Primary Industries and Parks Victoria. She joined the Board in 2009.

Ms Sarah Wrigley GAICD, BMS (NZ)

Sarah Wrigley has high level experience in marketing and fundraising. She is Chairman of the Warrandyte Community Bank® and has strong knowledge of community boards and valuable links to the community. She joined the Board in 2012.